“Glory To The Lamb Jesus”/Isaiah 38, “Hezekiah’s Illness,” cont’d

Christian Living

free cross images clip art

“At The Cross,” Bishop David L. Ellis 

“Hezekiah’s Illness,” cont’d, Isaiah 38:9) The writing of Hezekiah king of Judah, when he had been sick, and was recovered of his sickness:  10) I said in the cutting off of my days, I shall go to the gates of the grave:  I am deprived of the residue of my years.  Psalm 102:24.  11) I said, I shall not See The Lord, Even The Lord, in the land of the living:  I shall behold man no more with the inhabitants of the world.  Job 35:14; Psalm 116:9.  12) Mine age is departed, and is removed from me as a shepherd’s tent:  I have cut off like a weaver my life:  He Will Cut me Off With Pining (Yearning Deeply) Sickness:  From Day Even To Night Wilt Thou Make An End Of me.  2 Corinthians 5:4.  13) I reckoned (thought on this) till morning, that, as a lion, So Will He Break All my Bones:  From Day Even To Night Wilt Thou Make And End Of me.  14) Like a crane or a swallow, so did I chatter:  I did mourn as a dove:  mine eyes fail with looking Upward:  O Lord, I am oppressed; Undertake For me.  15) What shall I say?  He Hath Both Spoken Unto me, and Himself Hath Done It; I shall go softly all my years in the bitterness of my soul.  Job 7:11.  16) O Lord, By These Things men Live, and in all These Things Is The Life Of my Spirit:  So Wilt Thou Recover me, and Make me To Live.  17) Behold, for peace (or, I am in peace, John Gill)  I had great bitterness:  But Thou Hast In Love To my Soul Delivered It From The pit Of Corruption:  For Thou Hast Cast All my Sins Behind Thy Back.  18) For the grave cannot Praise Thee, death can not Celebrate Thee:  they that go down into the pit cannot Hope For Thy Truth.  Psalm 6:5; Psalm 30:9; Ecclesiastes 9:10.  19) The living, the living, he shall Praise Thee, as I do this day:  the father to the children Shall Make Known Thy Truth.  Psalm 78:3.  20) The Lord Was Ready To Save me;  Therefore we will sing my songs to the stringed instruments all the days of our life In The House Of The Lord.  Psalm 46:1.  21) For Isaiah had said, let them take a lump of figs, and lay it for a plaister upon the boil, and he shall recover.  22) Hezekiah also had said What is the Sign that I shall go up to The House Of The Lord?  

Quest Study Bible – v10-14, “ Is it okay to fear death?”  Hezekiah’s words may reflect despair more than fear.  Some think he worried that a short life (he was possibly in his late 30s) indicated that he had failed to live a good life.  (In Old Testament times, long life was considered a Blessing.)  His concern may have been heightened if he did not yet have an heir to the throne.  Its not unusual to be anxious about something we don’t fully understand.  Still, We Have Resources To Face Death That Hezekiah Didn’t (*Hebrews 2:14-15).  v18, “What did Hezekiah think would happen after death?”  Hezekiah’s word’s echo the Psalmists sentiments (Psalms 6:5; 115:17).  It was common then for people, even godly ones, to think that their sins would keep them apart from God after death.  They were therefore understandably nervous about what would happen when they died.  The New Testament, However, Assures Us That Through Christ Our Sins Can Be Totally Forgiven, Allowing Us To Live With God Forever.  v21-22, “Why do these verses seem out of order?”  Perhaps they serve as a footnote—clarifying what prompted Hezekiah’s writing (vv. 9-20).  These verses tie up the loose ends to the story.  Writers today sometimes use this technique, called a flashback, to depart from the natural sequence and tell about an earlier event.

*Hebrews 2:14) Forasmuch then as the children are partakers of flesh and blood, He Also Himself Likewise Took Part Of The Same; That Through Death He Might Destroy him That Had The Power Of Death, That Is, the devil;  2 Timothy 1:10.  15) And Deliver Them Who Through Fear Of Death Were All Their Lifetime Subject To Bondage.  Amen.  

Matthew Henry’s Concise Bible Commentary – v9-22, We Have Here Hezekiah’s Thanksgiving.  It is well for us to Remember The Mercies We Receive In Sickness.  Hezekiah records the condition he was in.  He dwells upon this, That He Will No More See The Lord.  A good man wishes not to live for any other end Than That He May Serve God, And Have Communion With Him.  Our present residence is like that of a shepherd in his hut, a poor, mean (lowly), and cold lodging, And With A Trust Committed To Our Charge, as the shepherd has.  Our days are compared to the weaver’s shuttle, Job 7:6, passing and re-passing very swiftly, every throw leaving a thread behind it; and when finished, the piece is cut off, taken out of the loom, And Showed To Our Master To Be Judged Of.  A good man, when his life is cut off, his cares and fatigues are cut off with it, and he rests from his labors.  But Our Times Are In God’s Hand; He Has Appointed What Should Be The Length Of The Piece.  When sick, we are very apt to calculate our time, but are still at uncertainty.  It should be more our Care How We Shall Get Safe To Another World.  And The More We Taste Of The Loving-Kindness Of God, The More Will Our Hearts Love Him, And Live To Him.  It Was In Love To Our Perishing Souls That Christ Delivered Them (or Us).  The Pardon Does Not Make The Sin Not To Have Been Sin, But Not To Be Punished As it Deserves.  It Is Pleasant To Think Of Our Recoveries From Sickness, When We See Them Flowing From The Pardon Of Sin.  Hezekiah’s Opportunity to Glorify God In This World, he (Used) in business, and pleasure, and end of life.  Being Recovered, He (Hezekiah) Resolves To Abound In (Increase) Praising And Serving God.  God’s Promises Are Not To Do Away, But To Quicken (Make Alive) And Encourage The Use Of Means (God’s Ever Increasing Mercy And Loving-Kindness).  Life And Health Are Given That We May Glorify God And Do Good.  Amen.             

Leave a Reply

